Myanmar Catholic Church 2007

Myanmar Catholic Church 2007
Catholic Bishops' Conference Myanmar.

Wednesday, June 13, 2007


Archdiocese Officials

A. Ordinary of Mandalay Archdiocese

Archbishop Paul Zinghtung Grawng was born on March 20, 1939. He was ordained a priest on March 27, 1965, and appointed Bishop of Myitkyina on April 3, 1976. His episcopal ordination was on July 9 that year. On June 16, 2003, Bishop Grawng was installed Archbishop of Mandalay. He is now president of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of Myanmar and chairman of the Episcopal Commission for Christian Family and Philosophy Department, National Catholic Major Seminary. He is also chairman of Animation.
Address: Archbishop House, Corner of 25th and 82nd Streets, Mandalay
Phone: (95) 2-33916

Previous Ordinaries
Bishop Charles Bo (Apostolic Administrator, 2002-2003)
Archbishop Alphonse U Than Aung (1987-2002)
Archbishop Aloysius U Ba Khin (1965-1987)
Archbishop Joseph U Win (1955-1965)
Bishop Joseph U Win (1954)
Bishop Foulquier (1906-1930)
Bishop Cardos (1902-1906)
Bishop Usse (1893-1902)
Bishop Simon (1888-1893)
Bishop Bourdon (1872-1887)

B. Other Archdiocesan Officials

Vicar General: Monsignor Canute U Lun Aung
Address: Sacred Heart Church, Military Hospital Road, Pyin Oo Lwin
Phone: (95) 85-21689

Procurator: Fr. Marco Tin Win
Address: Priests Centre, Corner of 81st & 25th Street, Mandalay
Phone: (95) 02-39531

Secretary: Fr. Peter Sein Hlaing Oo
Address: Signis Office, Priests' Center 81st & 25th Streets, Mandalay
Phone: (95) 02-34621


A. Catholic Population
As of 2003, Mandalay diocese had 22,371 Catholics, representing 0.15 percent of the 15 million people in Mandalay, Sagaing and Magwe Division.

B. Diocesan and Religious Priests
Diocesan priests: 38
Religious priests: 13

C. Deacons
Transitional: 2

D. Religious Brothers, Sisters
Religious Brothers: 8
Religious Sisters: 75

E. Lay Missionaries, Catechists
Catechists: 39 (salaried)

F. Seminaries, Houses of Formation
Major seminary:
  • St. Joseph's National Catholic Major Seminary (Philosophy Department)
    No. of seminarians: 87
    Address: (National Seminary) Institute of Philosophy, 22 Cherry Road, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-21013
    Rector: Father Martinus Myint Soe

  • Minor seminary:

    Mandalay Archdiocese's St. Aloysius Minor Seminary in Pyin Oo Lwin.
  • St. Thomas' Intermediate Seminary
    No. of seminarians: 60
    Address: 35th and 69th Street, Mandalay, Phone: (95) 2-31845
    Rector: Father Philip Tin Htun
    Staff: Father Peter Sein Hlaing Oo
  • St. Aloysius' Minor Seminary
    No. of seminarians: 108
    Address: 75, Circular Road, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-22296
    Rector: Father Cyprian Aung Win
    Staff: Father Christopher

  • Houses of Formation:
  • Nazareth Salesian Seminary
    Address: Anisakhan, Pyin Oo Lwin Township. Phone: (95) 85-22990 ext. 26, mobile (95) 95150758
    Rector: Father Edward Sein Myint, SDB
    Vice Rector: Father Bosco Ze Ya Aung, SDB
    House Bursor: Father Camillus Gin Go Suan, SDB
  • St. Joseph's Noviate and Studentiate (SDB)
    Address: Anisakan P.O, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-22990 ext. 25, mobile (95) 95150758
    Novice Master: Father Francis Dass, SDB
    Rector: Father Charles Saw Thi Han Lwin, SDB
    Vice Rector: Father Andrew Yan Naing Win, SDB
    House Bursor: Father Michael Tu Ling, SDB
  • St. Joseph's Noviate (SJA)
    Address: 75, Circular Road, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-21204
  • St. Aloysius' Noviate (FSAG) Address: Nawaret Road, Paday Tha Myo Thit, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-21686
  • Sacred Heart Noviate (FMM)
    Address: 75, Circular Road, Pyin Oo Lwin. Phone: (95) 85-21305

  • G. There are 28 parishes in the diocese.

    Inside the Sacred Heart Cathedral in Mandalay

    Participants at a Bible refresher course

    Archdiocesan Activities and Organizations

    A. Major Diocesan Commissions and Organizations
  • Animation and Peace: Father Nicholas Pyone Cho
  • Caritas and Capacity Building: Father Cyril Myint Soe
  • Catechesis: Father Augustine Tin Mg Htun
  • Disaster and Emergency Response: Father George Khin Mg Htwe
  • Education: Father Cyprian Aung Win
  • Evangelization and Ecumenism: Monsignor Canute U Lun Aung
  • Family: Father Peter Hla Shwe
  • Health: Father John Mg Nee, Priests' Center, Mandalay
  • Inter-religious and Inculturation: Father Marco Tin Win
  • Laity: Father John Mg San
  • Livelihood and Agriculture: Father Philip Ba Shwe
  • Migration and Tourism: Father Anthony Mg Mg Khin
  • Social Communication: Father Peter Sein Hlaing Oo
  • Social Economics and Saving: Father John Aye Kyaw
  • Vocation and Formation: Father Philip Tin Htun
  • Worship and Liturgy: Father Raphael Kyaw San
  • Youth: Father Louis Soe Lwin

  • Diocesan officials at an interreligious prayer event

    Diocesan Eternity Fund Association activity

    B. Catholic Educational Institutions

    New school building in Mon Hla village
    John Education Center (JEC Computer and Foreign Languages Training Centre)
    Address: Corner of 81st and 25th streets, Mandalay.
    Phone: (95) 2-39653

    C. Catholic Social Welfare
  • Clinics and dispensaries: 2
  • Orphanages: 2
  • Centers, hostels for youth: 1

  • D. Social Communications
  • Social communications office
    Director: Father Peter Sein Hlaing Oo
    Address: Signis Office, Priests' Center, 81st and 25th Streets
    Phone: (95) 2-34621
  • Diocesan newsletters and magazines: Shepherd's Voice (In Burmese) and Beloved of Christ (In English)

  • E. Other Church Organizations and Associations
  • Caritas
  • Catholic Literature Association
  • Ex-seminarians' Association
  • Fundraising Foundation
  • Legion of Mary
  • Religious Commission
  • St. Vincent de Paul

  • Religious Congregations, Societies and Institutes (Click here for details)

    A. Religious Institutes of Men
  • Brothers of St. Francis Xavier
  • Christian Brothers (De La Salle)
  • Missionaries of Our Lady of La Salette
  • Salesians of Don Bosco

  • B. Religious Institutes of Women
  • Daughters of Mary Help of Christians
  • Franciscan Missionaries of Mary
  • Franciscan Sisters of St. Aloysius Gonzaga
  • Sisters of Charity
  • Sisters of Reparation
  • Sisters of St. Francis Xavier
  • Sisters of St. Joseph of the Apparition

  • General Characteristics of the Archdiocese

    Mandalay archdiocese is located in the central part of Myanmar. It covers about 76,774 square kilometers and comprises the southern part of Saging division, almost the whole Mandalay division and the eastern part of Magwe division. The archdiocese has the suffragan dioceses of Myitkyina, Lashio and Hakha.

    The population of Mandalay is 8,634,600. Mandalay is not only the second largest city in the Union of Myanmar, but also the principal city in upper Myanmar. It was also a historically significant kingdom at the time of the ending of the Myanmar Royal Dynasty. Mandalay is the historical old capital, a capital of Myanmar culture, Buddhist Sanana and Myanmar traditional arts and crafts, a city which abounds in historical sites, cultural memorials and Buddhist edifices.

    Its original name, given by King Mindon (AD 1853-78), was "Yadanabon Naypyidaw" which means "The Treasure Heap City." But it has come to be known as Mandalay as it lies at the foot of Mandalay Hill. Only two kings resided at Mandalay, King Mindon and his son King Hsibaw (AD 1878-85), who was the last Myanmar king. Mandalay is the Myanmar city in which Buddhism flourishes to the highest degree.

    Most of the Myanmar people are Buddhist. A few are Muslims and Hindus. Ethnic groups in the city include Myanmar, Kayin, Karen, Tamil and Chinese. The language used in the diocesan territory is Myanmar.

    No comments: