Myanmar Catholic Church 2007

Myanmar Catholic Church 2007
Catholic Bishops' Conference Myanmar.

Tuesday, June 12, 2007



The Diocese of Pathein (Bassein) was officially erected in 1954, when His Holiness Pope Pius XII established the Catholic Hierarchy in Burma. Apostolate was first commenced among the Karens of the Delta area in 1844 by an Italian Priest, Fr Dominic Tarolli, who had come over to Burma with Bishop Cao in 1831. Later in 1846, he was joined by Fr. Pogolotti - an Oblate cleric recently ordained at Amarapura in 1843.Myaungmya was fixed as their Headquarters or Mission Centre. Fr. Tarolli, however, was made prisoner during the second Anglo-Burmese War in 1852. The mission establishments were totally destroyed.
On the arrival of Bishop Bigandet to Burma in 1856, he appointed Frs. Lacrampe and Naude to evangelize this area. At the cost of much sacrifice and toil, early intrepid pioneers Frs. Lacrampe, Naude and Tardivel managed to establish a flourishing mission. Kanazogon became the Mission Centre for Fr. Lacrampe. He soon set up a Church, a clergy house and a school and by 1862 there were already one thousand Catholics.
Fr. Naude, instead, went across to Maryland and opened up a Mission there. Other outstanding missionary figures like Fr. Tardivel, Fr. Bringaud, Fr. Rouver, Fr. Maigre and Fr. Boudard did much to spread the Good News throughout this difficult virgin area; a name that stands out at this time was that of Fr. George D’Cruz who initiated the Apostolate of the Press among the Karens.
The tireless and zealous efforts of those pioneers compeled with the sweat and toil of Burmas’ own Sons-our native Priests, the Church in Bassein (Pathein) steadily developed. 1954 was a memorable year and one of tremendous joy-the first ever Bishop of Pathein- Msgr. George U Kyaw was consecrated Bishop.
Bishop George U Kyaw administered the Diocese from 1955 to 1967. Fr. Joseph Mahn Erie succeeded him as the next Bishop. He was solemnly consecrated in St. Mary’s Cathedral in Yangon (Rangoon) by the Apostolic Delegate, Msgr. G. Caprio, on June 12, 1968. Bishop Mahn Erie governed the Diocese till his subsequent resignation in the middle of 1982. The elderly priest, Fr. Sequeira, Later in 1985 took over as Bishop of Pathein.
On April 27, 1988, Fr. John Gabriel was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Bassein. A few years later, Bishop Sequeira had to retire due to his advanced age and Bishop John Gabriel was installed as the Bishop of Bassein on February 23, 1992. Unfortunately Bishop John Gabriel lasted a scant six years in his Episcopal Office. He hardly lived long enough to see the fruits of his toils and labours. He died on August 14, 1994. On his demise, Msgr. Paulinus Mahn Ei Shaung was elected Vicar Capitular of the Diocese of Pathein. Finally, after a couple of years, Bishop Charles Bo, SDB (the incumbent Bishop of Lashio) was appointed to the See of Pathein as it’s 5th Bishop-on May 24, 1996. He was officially installed on August 25, 1996.
Far-sightedness, being energetic and willing to serve and develop the Diocese of Pathein, His Excellency Bishop Charles Bo, SDB, took a faith and daring step to animate, pushed up and convened a Diocesan Synod December 12-21, 1997, that has been giving birth to all and total development of the Diocese.
On 22 March 2003, Fr. John Hsane Hgyi was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Pathein and again was installed as bishop of Pathein on 24 August 2003, when His Excellency Charles Bo, SDB, became Archbishop of Yangon. Through the shepherding of Bishop John, God’s providence is still going on in the Diocese.

“Fully matured, totally developed people, witnessing freely the Values of Christ and His Gospel in Faith, Hope and Love”.


“Firmly believing that, all things are possible in Christ, we the Church leaders of Pathein, commit ourselves to:
1. Strengthen Systems and Structure
2. Formation and leadership training at all levels
3. Community Building both inside and outside
4. Partnership and dialogue with others
5. Development support for community


Bounded on the west by the Bay of Bengal and Rakhine
State, South by the Indian Ocean, East by the line of Bogale,Maubin,
Pantanaw and Nyaungdon Townships and North by the Lines of
Myanaung and Kyankin Townships.

General Statistics

Area in sq. kilometer 25,328
Civil Population 5,500,000
Catholic Population 72,112
Parishes 32
Priests 93(2007)
Religious Congregations 5
Man Religious 69
Women Religious 150
Catechists 134
Minor Seminarians 132
Major Seminarians 36
Priests studying in Rome 3
Priests studying in Philippines 1
Priests studying in Thailand 1
Donum Fidei Priests in USA 9
Donum Fidei Priests in Australia 2
Donum Fidei Priests in Myanmar (different dioceses)
Mawlamyine 2
Mandalay 3


Date of Birth 15.12.1953
Ordained Priest 07.03.1982
Consecrated Auxiliary Bishop 22.03.2003
Nominated Bishop of Pathein 24.05.2003
Installed on 24.08.2003
Address: Residence St.Peter’s Cathedral Tagaung Paya Road
Pathein 10011,
Ayeyarwady Division
Tel: 042-24018
Tel: 042-22552
Fax: 042-24018


Date of Birth: 18.03.1925
Ordained Priest 21.12.1951
Consecrated Bishop 12.06.1968
Retired 1982
Address: Residence CBCM
2929(A), Pyay Road Sanchaung 11111
Yangon, Myanmar.

Vicar General Msgr. Maurice Nyunt Wai
St. Peter’s Cathedral
Tagaung Paya Road
Pathein 10011,
Ayeyarwady Division Myanmar.
Tel: 042-25389 Tel: 042-22552,
Fax: 042-24018 e-mail:

College of Consultors
Msgr. Maurice Nyunt Wai Vicar General
Fr. Michael Myo Myint Diocesan Economer
Fr. Justin Saw Lwin Karuna Pathein Social Services
Fr. Remigius Saw Htoo Lay Dean of Pathein Zone
Fr. Felix Soe Win Dean of Hinthada Zone
Fr. Raymond Htun Kyi Dean of Myaungmya Zone
Fr. Benjamin Mahn Eihsu
Fr. Callistus Saw Eh Mwee National Director, P.M.S
Fr. Richard Saw Chancellor

Finance Committee:
Bishop John Hsane Hgyi Chairman
Fr. Michael Myo Myint Finance Administrator
Fr. Raymond Htun Kyi Member
Fr. Oswald Saw Bo La Yaung Member
Bro. Benedict (SFX) Member
Sr. Michael (SFX) Member
U Tin Tin ( Laity) Member

Diocesan Pastoral Council:
Diocesan Office Bishop’s Residence, Pathein

Bishop John Hsane Hgyi Local Ordinary
Msgr. Maurice Nyunt Wai Vicar General
Fr. Callistus Saw Eh Mwee National Director, P.M.S
Fr. Firmin Soe Htun Kyaw President-Education
Fr. Raphael Mahn Tha Klein President-Agriculture
Fr. Michael Myo Myint Diocesan Economer
Sr. Sylvia Secretary-Mass Media
Fr. Raymond Htun Kyi Dean of Myaungmya Zone
Fr. Remigius Saw Htoo Lay Dean of Pathein Zone
Fr. Felix Soe Win Dean of Hinthada Zone
Br. Sebastian Mg Mg Tin Superior General, SFX
Mother Margaret Mary Superior General, SFX
Saya Timothy President – Laity Commission
Saya Reni President - Commission of/ for
Fr. Wilfred Myint Soe President – Diocesan Youth
Teacher Gennie Secretary 1 [Family]
Teacher Coral Vice President – Education
Bishop’s Office Fr. Florence (Secretary)
Sr. Rose Virginie, SFX
Moses Saw Myat Thu


Ecumenism and Interreligious Dialogue Fr. Remigius Saw Htoo Lay Vocation and Formation Fr. Henry Ei Klein
Laity Fr. Zozimus
Youth Fr. Wilfred Myint Soe
Health Fr. Maurice Nyunt Wai &
Fr. Florence Ag Kyaw Oo
Education Fr. Firmin Soe Htun Kyaw
Evangelization Fr. Medard Lwan Moe
Agriculture Fr. Raphael Maha Tha Klein
K.P.S.S Fr. Justin Saw Lwin
Liturgy Msgr. Maurice Nyunt Wai
Family Fr. Raymond Htun Kyi &
Fr.Emmanuel Khin Kyaw
Social Communication Fr. Stephen U Cho
Catechists Fr. Oswald Saw Bo La Yaung
Culture and Language Fr. Pius Win Than Clergy Fr. Carolus Su Naing

No comments: