Myanmar Catholic Church 2007

Myanmar Catholic Church 2007
Catholic Bishops' Conference Myanmar.

Wednesday, June 13, 2007


Established: The history of the Diocese of PYAY (Prome) dates back to the early times when the Portuguese introduced Christianity to the Rakhine (Arakan) State. Dominicans and Jesuits were the first pioneers who worked hard in these areas. There were also the Augustinian Fathers and the Theatine Fathers who spent much of their zeal and energy but without much success. From 1785 to 1852 no missionary work was possible and very little hope was left. In 1834 West Bengal was erected into a Vicariate and it included Rakhine (Arakan). In 1850 Rakhine (Arakan) was restored to Myanmar (Burma) Ecclesiastically under Bishop Balma, the Vicar Apostolic of Ava and Bago (Pegu). In 1870, Rakhine (Arakan) came again under Indian territory as part of the diocese of Dacca. The Holy Cross Fathers worked in Rakhine (Arakan) from 1870 to 1875. In 1918, with the end of the World War I the Holy Cross Fathers resumed the Rakhine (Arakan) apostolate. Sandoway (Thandwe) was opened about 1922 and Gyeitkaw in 1928. In 1927 Chittagon became a separate Diocese from Dacca. Ten years later in 1937, the mission was handed over to the Missionaries of Our Lady of La Salette from the United States.

In 1940 the Prefecture Apostolic of Akyab (Sittwe) was erected with Fr. Thomas Newman appointed as its first Prefect Apostolic. Later on with the approval of Rome the La Salette Missionaries took charge of the Prome (Pyay)- Thayet area and in 1958 Prome (Pyay) became the center and the name also was changed into the Prefecture Apostolic of Prome (Pyay). In 1961, Prome (Pyay) became a Diocese and Msgr. Thomas Newman became its first Bishop. He was consecrated by Pope John XXIII in Rome on the 21st of May 1961.

The La Salette Fathers withdrew from the Mission in 1976 and the administration of the Diocese was handed over to the diocesan Clergy with Bishop Joseph Thaung Shwe as the head of the Diocese. In 1985, Fr Gregory Taik Maung was consecrated as Bishop and became the Administrator of the Diocese.

General Statistics:
Area in sq.kilometers : 80,937.5=31,250 sq. miles
Civil Population : 9,037,000
Catholic Population : 24,100
Parishes & Quasi Parishes : 20
Priests : 30
Religious Congregations : 6
Men Religious : 3
Women Religious : 72
Catechists : 80


His Excellency
Bishop Joseph Thaung Shwe
(Bishop of Pyay)

Date of Birth 10.10.1935
Ordained Priest 11.01.1961
Consecrated Bishop 02.02.1976
Address: St. Francis' Church Sandaw Quarter
Tel: 053-22467

His Excellency
Bishop Gregory Taik Maung
(Apostolic Administrator)

Date of Birth 19.12.1946
Ordained Priest 15.03.1975
Ordained Bishop 01.11.1985
Address St Paul's Cathedral
Meegyaungyeh Qrt.
Pyay. Myanmar.
Tel: 053-24100

Vicar General
01. (For Riverine) Msgr. Cornelius Kyaw Khine
Address St Mary's Church
Thayet, Myanmar.
Tel: 068-21050

02. (For Maritime) Msgr. Thomas Htun Myint
Address Sacred Heart Church
Rakhine State
Tel: 043-21074

Financial Administrator: Fr. Martin
St Paul's Cathedral
Pyay Myanmar Tel: 053-24100

Diocesan Center:

Address St. Francis' Church
Sandaw Quarter
Pyay Myanmar
In Charge Fr. David Ba Thein
Tel: 053-22467/24480

Laity Council Centre:

St. Francis' Church
Sandaw Quarter.
Pyay. Myanmar Tel: 053-22467
(Director) Fr. Richard Ye Myint

The College of Consultors:

01.Msgr. Thomas Htun Myint
02. Fr. Peter Maung Yin
03. Fr. Alexander Pyone Cho
04. Fr. Michael Kyi Lwin
05. Fr. Paul Htun Khine
06. Fr. Nereus Tun Min

Diocesan Finance Committee:

01. Msgr. Thomas Htun Myint
02. Fr. Peter Maung Yin
03 .Fr.Alexander Pyone Cho
04. Fr. Michael Kyi Lwin
05. Fr. Paul Htun Khine
06. Fr. Paul Than
07. Fr. Richard Ye Myint
08. Fr. Nereus Tun Min


Clergy Msgr. Thomas Htun Myint
Karuna Pyay Social Services Fr. David Ba Thein
Laity Fr. Richard Ye Myint
Liturgy Fr. Zachary Zaw Win Aung
Social Communications Fr. Augustine Nyan Tun
Youth Fr. Daniel Htay Yee
Evangelization Fr. Richard Ye Myint
Ecumenism Fr. Vincent Win Myint
Family Fr. Michael Kyi Lwin
P.M.S. Fr. Nereus Tun Min
Health Fr. Paul Htun Khine


01.St. Paul's Cathedral Meegyaungyeh Qrt.Pyay.
Tel: 053-24100
e-mail> (Pastor) Fr. Peter Maung Yin
(Procurator) Fr. Martin
( Bishop's Office) Fr. Conrad Moe Kyaw Htoo
Fr. Francis Aung Myint Oo

02. St. Francis' Church Sandaw Quarter
Tel: 053-22467
(Pastor) Fr. David Ba Thein
(Medical Leave) Fr. Peter Kyaing Shwe

03. Thayet St. Mary's Church
Tel: 068 - 21050
(Pastor) Fr. Simon (Associate Pastor) Fr. Augustine Nyan Tun
(Medical Leave) Msgr. Cornelius Kyaw Khine
Fr. Stephen

04. Shwepandaw Village St. Mary's Church
Aunglan Township Magwe Division
(Pastor) Fr. Nereus Tun Min
(Associate Pastor) Fr. Humbert Min Naing

05. Nyaungwon c/o St. Paul's Church, Pyay
(Pastor) Fr. Vincent Win Myint

06. Paukkhaung St. Mary's Church
c/o St. Paul's Church, Pyay
(Pastor) Fr. Jacob Mya

07. Sittwe Sacred Heart Church
Tel: 043-21074
(Pastor) Msgr. Thomas Htun Myint
(Associate Pastor) Fr. Gabriel Aung Lin Sein

08. Paletwa St. Peter's Church
Southern Chin State
(Pastor) Fr. Paul Htun Khine
(Associated pastor) Fr. Joseph Aung Kyaw Zwa
Ext.122 (01)333-2527/8/9/2530

09. Thandwe Church of Our Lady of La Salette Thandwe
Tel: 152
(Pastor) Fr. Michael Kyi Lwin

10. Kyaukpyu St. John the Baptist'sCatholic Church
Tel: 151
(Pastor) Fr. Daniel Htay Yee
(Associated Pastor) Fr. Paul Than
11. Oatshitpin St. Theresa's Catholic Church
Tel: 053-25652/231-007
(Pastor) Fr. Richard Ye Myint

12. Chaungtha St. Joseph's Catholic Church
Kyein-ta-lee P.O.
Gwa Township
(Pastor) Fr. Titus Nyan Win

13. Uttalinwa St. Mary's Church
Southern Chin State
(Pastor) Fr. John Ne Win

14. Minbya C/O Catholic Church
Sittwe, Rakhine State
(Pastor) Fr. Michael Than Aung

15. Semee C/O Catholic Church
Southern Chine State (Pastor) Fr. Zacharias Zaw Win Aung


Parishes Addresses In charge
01.Hmattine Catholic Church St. Francis Xavier Srs Hmattine P.O Paungde TSP 02.Minson Catholic Church Sisters of Our Lady of the Mindon Missions 03.Taunggok Catholic Church Sisters of Aloysius Taunggok Tel: 043-62500 04.Myebon Catholic Church Xaverian Brothers Myebon, Rakhine State


01. Karuna Pyay Social Service C/O St. Francis Xavier Diocesan Centre
Pyay Road, Pyay.
Tel: 053-24480
e-mail Karuna_pyay @ myanmar. com. mm

02. Leper Colony 1
Address St. Theresa Lepers'Colony & Orphanage
Mindon Road, Thayet
Tel: 068-21099

03. Orphanages 3

04. Boarding Houses (boys/ girls) 5



1. Name of Congregation Little Brothers of St. Francis Xavier
No. of House: [One] Myebon, Rakhine State

Woman Congregation

1. Name of Congregation Sisters of St. Francis Xavier
No. of Houses: [three] (1) Paukkaung
(2) Nyaungbintha
(3) Hmattine

2. Name of Congregation Franciscan Missionaries of Mary (F.M.M.)
No. of Houses: [one] (1) Nyaungwon Village
Paukkhaung Township

3. Name of Congregation Servites Sisters
No. of Houses: [one] (1) Aunglan
Magwe Divison
Tel: 069. 21720

4. Name of Congregation Sisters of St. Aloysius
No. of Houses: [two] (1) Taunggok,Rakhine State
(2) Lay-Ein-Su Village
Paukkhaung Township

5. Name of Congregation St. Paul Sisters
No. of Houses: [two] (1) Natshinchaung
Rakhine State
(2) Paletwa

6. Name of Congregation Our Lady of the Missions No. of Houses: [eight] - Pyay (3) Houses - Oatshitpin - Sittwe - Mindon - Thandwe - Shwepandaw -


01. Priesthood: St. Paul's Minor Seminary Aungchantha Quarter.
Tel: 053-25618
(Rector) Fr. Alexander Pyone Cho

02. Religious: Congregation of Our Lady
of the Missions Novitiate Aungchantha Quarter
Tel: 053-24483

No comments: